Mysteries of the Rosary

“Anyone who contemplates Christ through the various stages of his life cannot fail to perceive in him the truth about man.” – Pope St. John Paul II, Rosarium Virginis Mariae

The mysteries of the Rosary are meant to take one through the life of Christ so that in contemplation of the mysteries of His life, we might be conformed to the Son by the working of the Holy Spirit according to the will of the Father. John Paul II stated that through the Rosary, “the Christian community enters into contact with the memories and the contemplative gaze of Mary” (11). Through the Rosary, we are offered the opportunity to remember Jesus with Mary, who loved Jesus perfectly throughout her life and kept all these things, pondering them in her heart (Lk 2:19, 51).

The mysteries are broken up by their themes, which also correspond to the different stages of Jesus’ life. To read more about each mystery, click on the mystery below. The schedule for the contemplation of the mysteries throughout the week is the following:

The Joyful Mysteries
Jesus’ Hidden Life
Mondays and Saturdays
(optional: Sundays during Advent and Christmas)

  1. The Annunciation
  2. The Visitation
  3. The Nativity
  4. The Presentation of Jesus at the Temple
  5. The Finding of Child Jesus at the Temple

The Luminous Mysteries (Mysteries of Light)
Jesus’ Public Ministry

  1. The Baptism of Jesus
  2. The Wedding Feast at Cana
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
  4. The Transfiguration
  5. The Institution of the Holy Eucharist

The Sorrowful Mysteries
Jesus’ Passion
Tuesdays and Fridays
(optional: Sundays during Lent)

  1. The Agony of Jesus in the Garden
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar
  3. The Crowning with Thorns
  4. The Carrying of the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion

The Glorious Mysteries
Jesus and His Mother in Glory
Wednesdays and Sundays

  1. The Resurrection
  2. The Ascension
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
  4. The Assumption of Mary
  5. The Coronation of Mary